On July 29th, 2020, the Indian Education System noticed a historical decision made by the Union Cabinet, the New Education Policy. On this day, the Ministry of Education announced the major reforms in the educational structure under the newly laid National Education Policy

The Key Highlights of NEP 2020 in Higher Education:
  1. The program shall be structured in a semester mode with multiple exit options with Certification, Diploma and Basic Bachelor Degree at the completion of first, second and third years, respectively. The student who completes the four years Undergraduate Program, either in one stretch or through multiple exits and re-entries would get a Bachelor’s degree with Honours

  2. EXIT WITH Minimum CreditvRequirement NSQF Level
    Certificate at the Successful Completion of First Year (Two Semesters) 48 5
    A Diploma at the Successful Completion of the Second Year (Four Semesters) 96 6
    Basic Bachelor Degree at the Successful Completion of the Third Year (Six Semesters) 140 7
    Bachelor Degree with Honours in a Discipline at the Successful Completion of the Four Years (Eight Semesters) 180 8

  3. The four-year undergraduate Honours degree holders with research component and a suitable grade are eligible to enter the Doctoral (Ph.D.) Program in a relevant discipline or to enter Two Semester Master’s Degree programme with project work‟.
  4. Candidates who wish to enter the Masters/Doctoral programme in a discipline other than the major discipline studied at the undergraduate programmes, have to take additional courses in the new discipline to meet the requirement or to make up the gap between the requirement and the courses already studied.
  5. There may be parallel five-year integrated Master’s degree programmes with exit options at the completion of third and fourth years, with the undergraduate basic degree and post-graduate diploma in a discipline, respectively.
  6. There may also be an integrated doctoral programme with exit option at the end of the first year with the Master’s degree.

Subjects of Study:

The Components of Curriculum for Four Years Multidisciplinary Undergraduate Programme, the Category of Courses and their Descriptions are as given below:

  • Languages – 1
  • Language -II
  • Ability Enhancement Courses
  • Skill Enhancement Courses
  • Foundation Courses
  • Major Discipline Courses
  • Minor Discipline Elective Courses
  • Open Elective Courses
  • Project Work/Dissertation/ Internship/ Entrepreneurship

  • Academic Bank of Credit

    UGC has introduced a choice-based credit system to National Education Policy, under this system students will earn credits for each course they opt for during the degree program. Academic Bank of Credit is proposed by National Education Policy where digital credits earned by students for courses they studied will be deposited. Academic Bank of Credit is expected to have a flexible entry and exit system as well as multidisciplinary in higher education. Student’s deposit of credit should help to move laterally from one institution to another based on credit score.